July 13, 2020

  • I Am Alive and Well

    I'm taking a look at what I wrote six years ago. Those were heady days. Two years later, I would fall, woke up and found they were taking me to the hospital because I was speaking too softly and someone thought I was slurring my speech. So the docs found a clot in the brain; I had a mild ischemic stroke. So,  I had to endure three days in the ICU: good time to veg out a lot. Of course, everything was fine except for an extraordinary depression. Then there was the month on the heart monitor, six months till I could work again. I started new routines in the morning, started updating my climate data charts, resumed reading projects I had suspended, found out I was awake for a lot longer periods every day. As I had started to retire my debt, and not sure how long I would be capable of doing so, when I was able to work again, I used nearly all my earning in doing so. I expected the process to take six to eight years; I paid everything off in a little less than two years. Relief had come.